NB’S DIARY: BABY TRAUMA DRAMA

Just when you think you have a handle on something, leave it to life to throw you a curve ball. Something happened on Monday initially made me rethink my mindset when it comes to having kids. I have to give it to parents. They’re the true MVPs.
My nephew was circumcised on Monday and I don’t know who the experience was more traumatic for, him, or the four adults surrounding him.
He and his parents got back from the hospital around 11 am and it was non-stop petting, feeding and bawling for the next two days. You see the baby in the picture above? Compared to my nephew, that one might as well be laughing. Every time the poor boy urinated, the whole neighborhood would vibrate with his crying. He suddenly seemed to be twice as loud as he usually is.
I used to act like the tough love uncle who would make sure he doesn’t get spoiled by my heart was torn by this one o. I couldn’t take it after a while and had to run to my room just so I wouldn’t see him in so much pain anymore.
You should have seen his father. He didn’t know whether to go or to come. He went out at some point to get some topical cream to ease the pain and he forgot his phone and took his wife’s own instead. Have you ever seen 4 confused adults and a baby in pain in action before? It’s not a pretty sight.
He couldn’t wear diapers for the next couple of days but I will spare you the details of what that led to. Those images will be hard enough for me to forget and now I smell baby poop even in my dreams. That and the sight of my sister feeding him without sending the fact that I am sitting right beside her. Nothing like being a nursing mother to make a woman forget that she’s spent her entire life hiding certain part of her body from the outside world.
That first night, there was a vigil and everybody took shifts watching little man because he simply could not sleep 15 minutes without bawling in pain. We had to force his mom to rest all night though. She was knackered and her nerves were shot. A mother having to see her child in so much pain can be traumatic. Thankfully she slept all night (I’m convinced her husband slipped something into her tea).
We thank God sha. It’s Thursday and he’s going much much better but now I’m rethinking the number of boys I want to have with my future wife. This circumcision thing is not a beans somtin.
Thank God babies have short memories. Imagine remembering that kind of pain your entire life?
Respect to Abraham and his people o. They were mostly adults when that had their own circumcision done and I have heard that Abraham might have done his own himself. That man must be the buffest man that ever lived. Like seriously, all beard and muscles.
Dear future wife, don’t blame me if we have mostly girls. It’s my subconscious telling Y chromosomes to behave themselves. I kid.

 

 

 

Author: 9jaDad

First time father, loving husband and awesome agripreneur

8 thoughts on “NB’S DIARY: BABY TRAUMA DRAMA”

  1. Aww. UghhhhhhI think you've just made it worse for me. I'm still trying to come to terms with the pain of child birth, now you've added watching my son in circumcision pain to it. I've never actually given circumcision any though. How come no mum bloggers have shared this type of experience

    Like

  2. Open circumcision wounds make babies cry. There's this transparent device with a tiny hole for the urine to pass thru. It doesn't fall off till the wound heals.Nice blogIrenebernards.blogspot.com

    Like

  3. When my son was circumcised, he only cried when he was being sniped. Immediately the doctor finished he stopped crying and that was it. I breastfed him right there in the hospital lounge, took him home and he slept from about 11am till the next day, I kid you not. Lil man has a very high threshold for pain and It worries me sometimes, cos he might be seriously hurt and I won't know cos he's "chesting" the thing, which might result to something more serious. I don't pray for that tho. I know a grown man that was circumcised as an adult, he didn't leave his room for a month…

    Like

  4. Twale for your lil' man o! Cried just once and slept it off? I wish it had happened like that here. But wait o… why would a grown man decide to get circumcised at his age? Omo forget bible o. If i was in his position nobody would be snipping anybody. I can only imagine the pain for a grown man. That guy has my respect abeg.

    Like

  5. My dear it was a church something oh, I think his church is against circumcision so his penis was left alone. I hear the thing can be very ugly looking, *never seen one oh abeg. And its also a breeding ground for bacterial infections, also, it can be a sexy time killer too when bae sights the ugly mongrel. I do not know his reasons but for him to have braved it, it must be a cogent one for him.

    Like

  6. My dear it was a church something oh, I think his church is against circumcision so his penis was left alone. I hear the thing can be very ugly looking, *never seen one oh abeg. And its also a breeding ground for bacterial infections, also, it can be a sexy time killer too when bae sights the ugly mongrel. I do not know his reasons but for him to have braved it, it must be a cogent one for him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

